Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane - Natural Hazard Review

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

About the Natural Hazard Review

Queenstown Lakes District Council (QLDC) has been investigating risk from natural hazards in the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane areas. Assessments show there is a range of risk levels in these areas, with elevated levels of risk in some places. QLDC has also been investigating potential options for managing this risk to ensure that people and property are safe.

Since September 2021, we’ve been making plans to meet with the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane community to share what we’ve found, and what we might be able to do to address risk in these locations.


Risk Response Discussions

If you live in or have an interest in property in the areas with elevated levels of risk, you're invited to attend one of QLDC’s “risk response” meetings held during the week of 29 November - 3 December to share your views.

> Not sure if you are in the elevated risk areas?

If you’re not sure whether you are in the elevated risk areas, check out our Hazards Map. Properties within the yellow highlighted section are considered in the elevated risk areas.

> Inside the elevated risk areas and want to attend a meeting?

Email letstalk@qldc.govt.nz and express your interest. QLDC’s Emily Grace and Luke Place will be in touch to arrange an appropriate meeting time for you to attend.

> Outside the elevated risk areas but want to share feedback?

Please fill out this Hazards Feedback Form and send it to letstalk@qldc.govt.nz.


Hear about the Hazards drop-in sessions

QLDC hosted two Hear about the Hazards drop-in sessions on Friday 12 November and Saturday 13 November 2021. These sessions were held to share the technical assessments Council has produced in regard to natural hazards within the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane areas. We also provided information on the options being considered to manage natural hazard risk in the area, and our assessments of the costs and benefits associated with these options. We'd like to thank all who attended these sessions and provided feedback. You can find all of the material presented at these sessions, including technical information and videos, in the Documents and Videos sections of this page.


Got a question?

Got a question about natural hazards in the Brewer Creek and Reavers Lane areas? Ask your question at the bottom of this page and we'll get a member of our Planning team to respond as soon as possible.


What's next?

The decision on how to proceed will be made by elected members. To help inform this decision, we would like feedback, questions and comments from the community. A consultation process is planned for November 2021, and we'll be offering a number of different ways for you to be involved. We hope to see you at one of the events.

We will provide further updates here with information about the technical assessments and coming consultation as and when it is confirmed. The timeline below provides information on where we are at in this natural hazards review project.


About the Natural Hazard Review

Queenstown Lakes District Council (QLDC) has been investigating risk from natural hazards in the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane areas. Assessments show there is a range of risk levels in these areas, with elevated levels of risk in some places. QLDC has also been investigating potential options for managing this risk to ensure that people and property are safe.

Since September 2021, we’ve been making plans to meet with the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane community to share what we’ve found, and what we might be able to do to address risk in these locations.


Risk Response Discussions

If you live in or have an interest in property in the areas with elevated levels of risk, you're invited to attend one of QLDC’s “risk response” meetings held during the week of 29 November - 3 December to share your views.

> Not sure if you are in the elevated risk areas?

If you’re not sure whether you are in the elevated risk areas, check out our Hazards Map. Properties within the yellow highlighted section are considered in the elevated risk areas.

> Inside the elevated risk areas and want to attend a meeting?

Email letstalk@qldc.govt.nz and express your interest. QLDC’s Emily Grace and Luke Place will be in touch to arrange an appropriate meeting time for you to attend.

> Outside the elevated risk areas but want to share feedback?

Please fill out this Hazards Feedback Form and send it to letstalk@qldc.govt.nz.


Hear about the Hazards drop-in sessions

QLDC hosted two Hear about the Hazards drop-in sessions on Friday 12 November and Saturday 13 November 2021. These sessions were held to share the technical assessments Council has produced in regard to natural hazards within the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane areas. We also provided information on the options being considered to manage natural hazard risk in the area, and our assessments of the costs and benefits associated with these options. We'd like to thank all who attended these sessions and provided feedback. You can find all of the material presented at these sessions, including technical information and videos, in the Documents and Videos sections of this page.


Got a question?

Got a question about natural hazards in the Brewer Creek and Reavers Lane areas? Ask your question at the bottom of this page and we'll get a member of our Planning team to respond as soon as possible.


What's next?

The decision on how to proceed will be made by elected members. To help inform this decision, we would like feedback, questions and comments from the community. A consultation process is planned for November 2021, and we'll be offering a number of different ways for you to be involved. We hope to see you at one of the events.

We will provide further updates here with information about the technical assessments and coming consultation as and when it is confirmed. The timeline below provides information on where we are at in this natural hazards review project.


Ask a Question

Got a question about natural hazards in the Brewery Creek and Reavers Lane areas? Ask it here and a member of QLDC's Planning team will respond as soon as possible.

loader image
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    There is concern that not one of the options presented at the Memorial Hall presentation outlined the downstream effects of each option on the property owners in terms of future development rights or effects property values, nor how these effects will be addressed. The risks are on council land and it is for the council to address those risks, and the costs (either direct or indirect) should not be passed back to individual property owners. Equally there is concern that simple saying property owners are protected by the district plan is deceptive, as the district plan is subject to change. Property owners cannot be expected to provide feedback on a preferred option without understand what the effects of each option would be. This type of feedback gathering is very disingenuously.

    Alastair asked 10 days ago

    Hey there! Thanks for your query. We did have information available at the 'Hear about the Hazard' sessions on development rights and property values under the four options. Information on where the costs fall for each of the options was also available. We're sorry if you missed this - but we now have this information available here on Let's Talk too! On the Natural Hazards page, you'll find a heading called ‘Hear about the Hazard Technical Information’. Please refer to the ‘Costs & Benefits Analysis’ file and the three ‘Social Outcomes’ files. You may also find some of the videos helpful, particularly the economic and social ones (when they are posted). The Market Economics Social and Economic Impacts Assessment report, under the heading ‘Technical Assessments’ on this webpage also provides detailed analysis of these issues. We are aware that this information is not necessarily straight forward to understand, and we are happy to explain it in more detail to you over the phone or in person. If you are in the elevated risk area shown in yellow on the Risk Map (also on this website), we have another opportunity next week for you to understand the impacts of the options on you, via Risk Response Discussions. We will be explaining the impact of the options in more detail at these session. Please email Emily or Luke at letstalk@qldc.govt.nz if you would like to come to a Risk Response Discussion or discuss your concerns in person.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I live in 18 Fryer street for nearly 40 years and in your map showing that part of my property you consider is at risk, I am in the process of selling my property for development and if this goes through will that mean they cannot develop any future complex? You have given 14 fryer and 20 Fryer Street consent and I am in the middle of both properties it is ridiculous that you allowed both properties consent and and that due to your risk boundary that a probability that you will decline any future development on 18 Fryer Street? In my time I have never seen any flow of debris nor flooding, how has this come about? I cannot understand why just across the road from my place is considered low risk when it is just a few steps across the road?

    Standfield asked 23 days ago

    Hi there! Council is currently considering options to address risk, and there is no actual change proposed yet. A decision on whether Council moves forward with any of the options will be made sometime in 2022, and it would take time to implement any of the options (apart from the 'status quo' option). The level of risk on your property is at the lower end of what Council is considering, and our general approach is that any intervention matches the level of risk. If you weren't able to make one of the drop-in sessions we hosted in the weekend just been, email our team at letstalk@qldc.govt.nz and we can organise to talk with you at a time that suits you.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Hi, It would be great to know why the properties at the cul de sac end of Hilton Place are not within the study area. The area studied contains a diversity of home owners & occupants, including young families attending nearby schools etc. Will there be clear separated risk levels identified? it seems the far right of the area studied is further away than some of the areas that are NOT in the area studied. (ie hylton place cul de sac) Thanks for any clarification

    jojo asked about 1 month ago

    Hi there - for your question. The properties on Hilton Place are not included in the study area as these are on lower lying land that is not part of the overall alluvial fan landform. The Hilton Place land was rezone Business Mixed Use as part of Stage 1 of the District Plan review, which was notified in 2015. We have clear separated levels of risk identified, and only part of the area under review is subject to elevated areas of risk.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    An aerial view plan of the stream positions and properties affected would be a very useful tool to visualise what it is this is all about.

    Brian asked 3 months ago

    An aerial view of the stream positions, properties affected and risk probabilities can be found here: https://www.qldc.govt.nz/media/k5nnfzkj/3b-attachment-b-slope-stability-annual-individual-life-risk-contours.pdf

    We're also working on an aerial view of the affected locations with a tolerability overlay. We'll share this soon!

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Hi there, just wondering where things are at with this project and whether there are any indicative timeframes on notification of options/plan changes?

    MorganS asked 8 months ago

    Queenstown Lakes District Council is currently in the final stages of analysing risk management options. Once complete, we’ll be hosting a number of community sessions in the latter half of 2021 to help guide selection of risk management options.

Page last updated: 26 November 2021, 11:03